Clinton Harrison . com

Travelogue and Gallery

Manila Cathedral

The eight structure to rise on the site.

The first church built of nipa and bamboo was built in 1571.  It burned down in 1583, and a second cathedral was built of stone and mortar in 1591.  It was destroyed in 1599 and 1600 by earthquakes.

Third cathedral was built in 1614.  Destroyed by 1621 and 1645 earthquakes.  Fourth cathedral built from 1654 to 1681.  Damaged by typhoons and earthquakes, and subsequently demolished in 1751.

Fifth cathedral inaugurated in 1760.  Renovated in 1850 but destroyed by an earthquake in 1852.  Sixth cathedral constructed from 1854 to 1858.  Destroyed by earthquake in 1863.  Seventh cathedral inaugurated in 1879, then severely damaged by earthquake in 1880 when its belltower collapsed.  Totally destroyed in the 1945 Battle of Manila.

The present cathedral was built from 1953 to 1958.  Elevated to the rank of Minor Basilica by Pope John Paul II in 1981 and officially named Basilica of the Immaculate Conception.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.